PDP seeks disqualification of APC's governorship, senatorial candidates in Benue

user_icon PDP seeks disqualification of APC's governorship, senatorial candidates in Benue Posted by: NOTICE.COM.NG Staff
calendar-icon PDP seeks disqualification of APC's governorship, senatorial candidates in Benue Posted on: 2022-06-29 17:14:46
PDP seeks disqualification of APC's governorship, senatorial candidates in Benue PDP-PEOPLES-DEMOCRATIC-PARTY-1000X600-128032

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has approached the Federal High Court, Abuja, to challenge the legality of the primary elections conducted by the All Progressives Congress, (APC) in Benue.

PDP is asking the court to stop INEC from accepting and publishing the names of the governorship and senatorial candidates of the APC for the 2023 general elections in the state.

In multiple suits filed, the PDP and its governorship and senatorial candidates are challenging the credibility of the APC direct primary election that produced its candidates for the 2023 elections in Benue.

DO YOU KNOW >>> ADC will capitalize on APC lapses – Zamfara chair, Garba - 2023

In a suit marked "FHC/ABJ/CS/826/2022'', the PDP and its governorship candidate, Mr Titus Uba are challenging APC's primary election that produced Rev. Fr. Hyacinth Alia as its governorship candidate.

In another suit, marked "FHC/ABJ/CS/ 889/2022'', Gov. Samuel Ortom, Sen. Gabriel Suswam and Sen. Abba Moro are challenging the direct primary election of the APC that produced its candidates for the three senatorial zones in the state.

Listed as defendants in the multiple suits are INEC, Fr. Alia, Mr Terlumun Ikya, Mr Benard Yisa, Mr Mathias Byuan, Mr Godwin Tyoachimin, Mr Michael Aondokaa (SAN) and Sen. Barnabas Gemade.

READ ALSO >>> Oshiomhole refuses to comment on calls for his sack as National Chairman - APC Crisis

Others are Rep. Herman Hembe, Mr Anyom Mlanga, Mr Terwase Orbunde, Mr Stephen Lawani, Mr Sam Ode and Professor Terhemba Shija.

Also listed as defendants are Mr Emmanuel Udende, Mr Titus Zam, Mr Daniel Onjeh, Mr Samuel Zuga, Mr Torngee Malu, Mr David Awunah, Mr Nelson Alapa, Mr Jacob Ajene, Austin Oleho and retired Maj.-Gen. Joseph Eje.

In the originating summons, the plaintiffs urged the court to compel INEC not to accept, recognise or publish the names of the APC candidates for the various positions being contested in the state.

READ ALSO >>> Benue lawmaker, Jacob Orban dumps APC for PDP

It was dated June 8 and was filed by some senior lawyers led by Mr Sebastine Hon (SAN).

The plaintiffs held that the APC candidates should not be recognised because the primary elections that produced them as candidates were conducted in breach of relevant electoral laws.

According to the plaintiffs, this is in violation of Constitutional provisions for the conduct of party primaries.

READ ALSO >>> Ayu, Atiku, PDP governors storm Osogbo tomorrow for Adeleke - Osun Guber

Meanwhile, the judge, Justice Emeka Nwite, has ordered substituted service of the court processes on the defendants after granting the application moved by counsel to the plaintiffs.

He adjourned the matter till Aug. 1 for hearing.

READ ALSO >>> Celebrating Mama Fred Williams at 91

WATCH >>> Download Nollywood Movie:- Selina Tested Episode 28 – ( ENDGAME Part B) - Trailer

WATCH >>> Peter Obi Net Worth 2022, Biography, Cars And Houses

WATCH >>> Obi Cubana and E money Net Worth 2022s & Cars - Who is richer?

LISTEN TO >>> Music Mp3: Stefen - Yonda

WATCH >>> Nollywood Movie: Loved By You

READ ALSO >>> Alexis Ohanian Net Worth 2022

For All Nigeria Past Questions Visit www.QUESTION.NG

Kindly share this post on different Social Media below



NOTE: User comments in this section are, as the name implies, provided by users of this website. The question.ng team is not responsible for, nor do they endorse, any of the information provided here.