Home of Nigeria Latest News and Updated Information

Edo Speaker swears in two members as Assembly names principal officers

user_icon Posted by:
Tiamiyu Saheed Oluwatosin
views-icon Views:
like-icon Page likes:
dislike-icon Page dislikes:
calendar-icon Posted on: 2019-07-07 15:37:14
share-icon Share(s):

Despite a recent letter sent to the Edo State House of Assembly on the way and manner the House inauguration was carried out last week, which the All Progressive Congress, APC, said it was not properly done, the Speaker of the House, Rt Hon Frank Okiye, on Monday swore in two members.

The members: Ojiezele Sunday (Esan north east), Emmanuel Okoduwa (Esan south east), took their oath of office as members of the State Assembly under the guidance of the Okiye after he was informed by the Clark of the House of the members-elect’s presence.

The Clark told the Speaker that having met the constitutional requirement by the members-elect, they are in the House to perform their swearing in proper.

A total of nine members carried out the legislative business of the day after the inauguration of the new members.

DO YOU KNOW >>> APC attacks Amaechi over absence in South-South, FG meeting

READ ALSO >>> Imo State House of Assembly moves to abolish osu caste system

The House ratified the position of following members as principal officers thus: Hon Roland Asoro (Orhinmwon 2) nominated as house leader; Hon. Marcus Onobun (Esan west constituency) as deputy house leader, and Hon. Henry Okhuarobo (Ikpoba Okha) as chief whip.

Afterwards, Speaker Okiye read on the flour of the house a nomination letter sent from the APC Edo state chapter meant to inform the members on the stand of the party as it relates to the above positions in the state assembly.

The house also appointed Hon. Nosayaba Okunbor into principal officers council, POC,

Lawmaker earlier sworn-in last week are: Frank Okiye (Esan north East 1), elected as Speaker, Yekini Idaiye (Akoko-Edo 1) as deputy Speaker, Roland Asoro (Orhinmwon 2) Nosayaba Okunbor (Orhinmwon 1) Marcus Onobun (Esan west), Uyi Ekhosuehi (Oredo east) Henry Okhuarobo (Ikpoba-Okha) Ephraim Anehbosele (Igueben) Eric Okaka (Owan east).

READ ALSO >>> Five feared dead as Eiye, Aye confraternities clash in Edo

READ ALSO >>> Gunmen attack Adamawa Speakers residence, kill vigilante, abduct two people

The House on Monday adjoined until 17th of July, 2019.

BREAKING >>> NHIS now enjoys peace, harmony says Buhari’s Minister, Dr. Ehanire

For All Nigeria Past Questions Visit www.QUESTION.NG

Kindly share this post on different Social Media below



NOTE: User comments in this section are, as the name implies, provided by users of this website. The question.ng team is not responsible for, nor do they endorse, any of the information provided here.